Health and Social Care

Head of Department

Mrs D Glover

Examining Body


Overview of the course:

BTEC has developed the content of this 2-year course in collaboration with employers and representatives from higher education and relevant professional bodies. In this way, they have ensured that content is up to date and that it includes the knowledge, understanding, skills and attributes required in the sector.  The content applied during delivery is linked so that it is relevant to local employment needs.  BTEC Nationals have always required applied learning that brings together knowledge and understanding (the cognitive domain) with practical and technical skills (the psychomotor domain). This is achieved through learners performing vocational tasks that encourage the development of appropriate vocational behaviours (the affective domain) and transferable skills. Transferable skills are those such as communication, teamwork, research and analysis, which are valued in both higher education and the workplace. The BTEC Nationals attract UCAS points. Please visit the UCAS website for full details of the points allocated.

Course Details 

You will study 4 units over the two years. In unit 1 learners will cover physical, intellectual, emotional and social development across the human lifespan, and the factors affecting development and the effects of ageing. In unit 2 learners explore what it is like to work in the health and social care sector, including the roles and responsibilities of workers and organisations. In the synoptic unit learners focus on the principles and practicalities that underpin meeting individuals’ care and support needs, which are the foundation of all the care disciplines. Finally, Learners will explore types of physiological disorders, the procedures for diagnosis, and the development of a treatment plan and provision of support for service users.

Unit no. Mandatory units       
Unit 1 Human Lifespan Development 90 Mandatory External
Unit 2 Working in Health and Social Care 120 Mandatory External
Unit 5 Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs 90 Mandatory Synoptic  Internal
Unit 14 Physiological Disorders and their care 60 Optional  Internal



Assessment is specifically designed to fit the purpose and objective of the qualification. It includes a range of assessment types and styles suited to vocational qualifications in the sector. There are three main forms of assessment that you need to be aware of: external, internal and synoptic.

Possible Career Paths

This qualification carries UCAS points and if it is taken alongside other qualifications as part of a two-year programme of learning, then it is recognised by higher education providers as contributing to meeting admission requirements for many courses. It will support entry to many higher education courses, depending on the other qualifications learners have taken. Learners should always check the entry requirements for degree programmes with specific higher education providers. The career opportunities are endless once you have completed this course. You will be equipped with the practical and theory skills to enter careers such as a Midwife, Paramedic, Nurse, Doctor, Physiotherapist, Radiographer, Social worker, Care worker, Therapist, Speech and Language Specialist, to name but a few.