BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Computing

Head of Department 

Mr Watts

Examining Body


Overview of the course

The Computing BTEC consists of four units, two of which are externally examined and two which are coursework-based:

  1. Principles of Computer Science
  2. Fundamentals of Computer Systems
  3. IT Systems Security and Encryption
  4. Website Development

Course Details 

AS Level:

In the first year, students focus on developing programming skills using the Python programming language. The IT Systems Security and Encryption unit is completed as a practical project with students working with the technicians to install and configure a new computer system.


In Year 2, students produce a website designed to meet a set of given requirements as well as studying for the Fundamentals of Computer Systems unit.


Assessment is by written coursework for two units and external examination for two units.

Possible Career Paths 

Software Developer, IT Technician, IT Systems Engineer, Website Developer, Science Researcher, Robotics Engineer, Creative Media Professional.